Welcome to the official Ski Oakenfull Website.
Ski is an Artist, Keyboard player, Producer, Remixer and Composer living in London. Having started his career with The K-Creative who were signed to Gilles Peterson's Talkin' Loud label in 1991, he went on to release two solo albums, Life Changes & Rising Son, play keyboards with bands such as Galliano, Raw Stylus & Two Banks of Four, remix over 50 tracks, and work at Xenomania. He currently releases music on his own label, Primaudial Records, plays live with The Bays, writes & produces with artists such as Incognito, Joey Negro, Valerie Etienne. He has an Ambient Electronic project called Ayota, and also does a bit of DJing in his spare time. Alongside his production work, Ski holds the position of Head of Education & Development at Point Blank Music School where he writes courses in electronic music for their BA (Hons) degree programmes. He has also made over a hundred videos for the school's YouTube channel which have racked up over eight million views.. Please have a look around this site, and feel free to leave a message.

Producing A House Track in UA LUNA

Todd Terje - 'Inspector Norse' Deconstruction at LMC

Todd Terje - 'Inspector Norse' Deconstruction at LMC

Check out the Point Blank blog piece here:


Ski Selection Vinyls Radio Nova 11 September 2000

22 February, 2020

Avicii - 'SOS' ft. Aloe Blacc Deconstruction at IMS Malta 2019

Avicii - 'SOS' ft. Aloe Blacc Deconstruction at IMS Malta 2019

Check out the Point Blank blog piece here:


Radio Show #11 - 2019 Vinyl Selection

30 December, 2019

This show was recorded on 29th December 2019

Here's the playlist:

1. Bob Perna - Ole [1975]
2. Ryuichi Sakamoto - Andata (Electric Youth Remix) [2018]
3. Ryan Teague - Recursive Iteration II [2019]
4. Beabadoobee - She Plays Bass [2019]
5. John Coltrane - Countdown [ 1960]
6. David Sylvian - Where the railroad meets the sea [1986]
7. BBC radiophonic workshop - Electronics (Marshland / Grinder / Loom) [1975]
8. Haruomi Hosono - Haruomi Hosono [1989]
9. Kimiko Kasai with Herbie Hancock - Butterfly
10. Japan - European Son [1982]
11. Sherrick - Just Call [1987]
12. Chaka Khan - Fate [1981]
13. Todd Terje - Inspector Norse [2012]
14. The Balistic Brothers vs The Eccentric Afros - Blacker [1994]
15. The K-Creative - To Be Free (Pal Joey Remix) [1992]

Björk - 'Venus As A Boy' Deconstruction

Björk - 'Venus As A Boy' Deconstruction

I really enjoyed collaborating with the amazing Glaiza DeCastro, Clare Selby and string players from the Royal Academy of Music on this deconstruction of Björk's Venus as a boy for Point Blank Music School

Here are some links to a few of the devices I used:
Roland Cloud JX-3P:

DD0605 Disk Dubs - Ski Oakenfull // 03-11-19

5 November, 2019

"What a challenge to try to define my musical 'DNA' through a two hour selection of tracks! Still, it is a great honour to have been asked, and I have found it to be a very satisfying experience. I hope that the playlist works as an enjoyable listen as well as marking crucial points in the evolution of my musical appreciation. The hardest thing was knowing where to start and choosing what to miss out. I could have included artists such as Howard Jones, Depeche Mode & Tears for Fears who I loved as a teenager for example, but instead I tried to focus on tracks that had the biggest impact on me when I first discovered them and have subsequently become musical reference points for my own compositions.

Looking back at my selection, it seems that the one common thread is Jazz, whether that's Johnny Marr's guitar chords, Larry Heard's synth pads or Ryuichi Sakamoto's piano riffs. Jazz can define an attitude as well as a sound, so maybe this explains my choices. I'd just like to say a massive thanks to all the friends, DJs, podcasters, musicians, producers, colleagues and students who have expanded my musical vocabularly over the years. I am eternally grateful, and I can't wait to hear what's round the corner!"

1. Dauwd – What's There
This immaculately produced future-garage track from Dauwd blew me away when I first heard it on Giles Peterson's radio show in 2012. Dauwd sets the bar extremely high with his precision programming.

2. Lone – Pulsar
I've been a massive fan of Lone since I watched his first Boiler Room set. He manages to create a perfect blend of soulful 90's house with delicate ambient textures. In this track from his 'Ambivert Tools Volume Four EP' I can really hear the influence of 'Papua New Guinea' by Future Sound of London, especially when the breakbeat comes in.

3. Larry Heard - What About This Love?

Halsey - Without Me Deconstruction

Halsey - Without Me Deconstruction

This track really blew me away when I first heard it, so I really wanted to investigate further.

Rather than trying to stick to native Ableton devices, I was a bit more liberal with third party plugin usage this time.

Check out:
Roland Cloud JV1080:
Lennar Digital Sylenth:
Native Instruments Kontakt Piano:
LKJB Luftikus EQ: