Ski Oakenfull

Ski Selection Vinyls Radio Nova 11 September 2000

22 February, 2020

Radio Show #11 - 2019 Vinyl Selection

30 December, 2019

This show was recorded on 29th December 2019

Here's the playlist:

1. Bob Perna - Ole [1975]
2. Ryuichi Sakamoto - Andata (Electric Youth Remix) [2018]
3. Ryan Teague - Recursive Iteration II [2019]
4. Beabadoobee - She Plays Bass [2019]
5. John Coltrane - Countdown [ 1960]
6. David Sylvian - Where the railroad meets the sea [1986]
7. BBC radiophonic workshop - Electronics (Marshland / Grinder / Loom) [1975]
8. Haruomi Hosono - Haruomi Hosono [1989]
9. Kimiko Kasai with Herbie Hancock - Butterfly
10. Japan - European Son [1982]
11. Sherrick - Just Call [1987]
12. Chaka Khan - Fate [1981]
13. Todd Terje - Inspector Norse [2012]
14. The Balistic Brothers vs The Eccentric Afros - Blacker [1994]
15. The K-Creative - To Be Free (Pal Joey Remix) [1992]

Radio Show #11 - 2019 Vinyl Selection

DD0605 Disk Dubs - Ski Oakenfull // 03-11-19

5 November, 2019

Bring it on (Ski Oakenfull Remix)

Track(s) on LP
Artist Name: 
Roberta Gentile
Bring it on (Ski Oakenfull Remix)
Bring it on (Ski Oakenfull Remix)
Bring it on (Ski Oakenfull Remix)
Release Date: 
1 March, 2019
Record Label(s): 
Splash Blue
Remixer (Ski)

Ryuichi Sakamoto with Gilles Peterson // 17-01-19

17 January, 2019

I was very honoured to be asked to select three Sakamoto tracks for this show and also talk a little bit about them. It was broadcast in 17th January 2019 to celebrate Ryuichi's 67th birthday.

Ryuichi Sakamoto – Energy Flow [Sony/ Milan]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Andata [Commmons/ Milan]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Riot In Lagos [Island]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Solari [Commmons/ Milan]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Zure Ryuichi Sakamoto – Zure
Yellow Magic Orchestra – Technopolis [Alfa]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Walker [Commmons/ Milan]
Yellow Magic Orchestra – Behind The Mask [Alfa]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Disintegration [Commmons/ Milan]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Async [Commmons/ Milan]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Async (Arca Remodel) [Milan]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Life Life (Andy Stott Remodel) [Milan]
Towa Tei Ft Ryuichi Sakamoto – Obrigado [Elektra]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – FF2 [Milan]
Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto – Logic Moon [Raster-Norton]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Andata (Electric Youth Remodel) [Milan]
Cornelius – If You’re Here (Ryuichi Sakamoto Rework) [Warner Japan]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – School In Paris [Milan]

// Ola Szmidt Selection //
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Main Theme from Wuthering Heights [Toshiba EMI Japan]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – The Middle Way ( From “Little Buddha” soundtrack) [Milan]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Only Love Can Conquer Hate ( From a “Babel” Soundtrack) [Warner Japan]

Yellow Magic Orchestra – Firecracker [Alfa]

// Ski Oakenfull Selection //
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Thousand Knives [Denon]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – I’ll Be There [Columbia]
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Seed and The Sower [London Records/Virgin]

Article in DJ Mag August 2018

I was interviewed by DJ Mag earlier this year, and was really chuffed to see the article appear in the August issue. I discussed my deconstructions for Point Blank Music school, and how they have evolved over the last six years. I'm attaching a photo of the piece below which you can download.

Article in DJ Mag August 2018

Ski Oakenfull Radio Show #9 with Tomokazu Hayashi - Haruomi Hosono & Gen Hoshino

21 May, 2018

This show was recorded on the 8th April 2018 with my good friend Tomo in Gifu, Japan. Hot on the heals of Tomo's fantastic YMO article in 'The Wire' magazine entitled 'A User's Guide to Yellow Magic Orchestra' (, this radio show expands the YMO family to look at the work of Gen Hoshino.
Hoshino san is a true polymath, who is often seen as continuing Hosono's legacy.
Check out this recent book (in Japanese) written about both of them by Hoshino here:

The cover artwork is by Tomo

The show is divided into three sections:

1. Sakerock - 'Thousand knives and Yokaidochuki' (Sakerock “Honya Ra Ra” (2008))
2. Sakerock - ‘Ian ryoko’ (Sakerock. “Ian ryoko” (2004))
3. Sakerock - ‘Otootooto-san’ (Sakerock. “Yuta” (2004))
4. Sakerock - ‘Kaisha-in’ (Sakerock. “Honya Ra Ra” (2008))
5. Sakerock - All Stars ‘Nana Byou Shu’ (Sakerock All Stars. “Tropical Douchu” (2006)
6. Sakerock - ‘MUDA’ (Sakerock. “MUDA” (2010))
7. Sake Rock All Stars - ‘Pom Pom Joki’ (Sake Rock All Stars “Tropical Douchu” (2006))

8. Gen Hoshino - ‘Tadaima’ (from Gen Hoshino “Baka no uta” (2010))
9. Haruomi Hosono - ‘Tadaima’ (Haruomi Hosono “Hosonova” (2011))
10. Haruomi Hosono -‘Tutti Frutti’ (Haruomi Hosono “Vu Ja De” (2017))
11. Ren Takada Feat. Ryosuke Nagaoka (aka Ukigumo) - ‘Night Rider’ (Ren Takada. “Night Rider’s Blues” (2017))
12. Humbert Humbert Feat. Ryosuke Nagaoka (aka Ukigumo) - ‘Ganbare Niichan’ (Humbert Humbert “Kazoku Koushin Kyoku” (2017))

13. Gen Hoshino Feat. Ryosuke Ryosuke (aka Ukigumuo) - ‘Koi’ (Gen Hoshino. “Koi” (2016))
14. YMO - ‘Mad Pierrot’ (YMO. “Yellow Magic Orchestra (Japan version)” (1978))
15. Gen Hoshino - ‘Nerd Strat’ (Gen Hoshino. “Yellow Dancer” (2015))
16. Tin Pan Alley - ‘Yellow Magic Carnival’ (Tin Pan Alley. “Caramel Mama” (1975))
17. Haruomi Hosono - “Pecora” (Haruomi Hosono “Vu Ja De” (2017. Original recording 1987))
18. Haruomi Hosono - “2355 shi kaeru (Mr. 2355 back home)” (Haruomi Hosono “Vu Ja De” (2017. Original recording 2010)

Rhodes to Forever

Track(s) on LP
Artist Name: 
Bluey and Friends
Rhodes to Forever
My Seventy Three
1. “The Story of the Rhodes” featuring Tom O’Grady
2. “My Seventy Three” featuring Ski Oakenfull
3. “Eight Keys to Eden” featuring Graham Harvey
4. “Paraty” Featuring Matt Cooper
Release Date: 
25 September, 2017
Record Label(s): 
Splash Blue
Performer (Other Artist's Music)
Writer (Other Artist's Music)
See video

Deer Shed Festival 2018

I'll be doing a live deconstruction in the Duckends tent at this year's Deer Shed Festival

Here's the blurb from the Loop website:

Ski Oakenfull likes making music so much he began making a career of it in 1991 with the band 'The K-Creative'. More recently his music production skills have turned him into a bit of a viral sensation, recording live deconstructions of popular tracks on Ableton such as this one of Daft Punk’s Get Lucky.
This summer, Ski will deconstruct the Massive Attack classic Unfinished Sympathy live at Deer Shed 9, and talk Deer Shedders through making music production that little bit more accessible!

Saturday, July 21, 2018
Deer Shed Festival 2018

WhoSampled Presents Samplethon Competition at PB London with KPM & Ableton

Samplethon is a first-of-its-kind event format giving up-and-coming producers access to rare and sought after sample material from a leading music library to produce exciting new music under the guidance of world class producers. The next Samplethon event takes place on Sunday October 15th 2017 at London’s Point Blank Studios with support from Ableton. 20 producers will be given exclusive access to pre-cleared original sample material from the world renowned KPM catalogue, an EMI Production Music label. The challenge: to produce a new track using the provided sample material against the clock, with the supervision and assistance of our team of esteemed mentors. This event will create a rare opportunity to sample from these highly regarded recordings performed by world class musicians, free from the legal shackles often associated with sampling.

Watch the video below to get an idea of what to expect on the day, which will be mentored and judged by a highly experienced panel including Shawn Lee (Ubiquity), Chris Read (BBE / WhoSampled), Ollie Teeba (Ninja Tune) and Point Blank’s Ski Oakenfull.

Sunday, October 15, 2017
WhoSampled Presents Samplethon Competition at PB London with KPM & Ableton